Easiest Baby Cookies Ever

Sometimes, you need something quick and easy to give your baby between meals, while he’s teething, or to buy yourself a few more minutes while you’re out and about. Here is where teething biscuits, puffs, or some kind of cracker usually steps in. The thing is, when you’re a momma of a kid with dietary restrictions, these common, packages go-to’s become big no-nos. Most contain soy and/or dairy, which makes them no good for my family, and others are simply packed with ingredient that I don’t know and don’t want to expose Ryan to.

So I went out looking for something simple I could make that I could give Ryan and feel good about it. I did some research and pretty quickly the answer was obvious.

When I first started losing weight, I wanted cookies. Man, did I want cookies. You see, I LOVE cookies. And when I started my journey to a healthier lifestyle, I knew that a nightly stack of Chips Ahoy was not the best option. While I never found a good substitute (though I have found a few great small batch and single serving recipes for my favorite) I remembered seeing recipes for two ingredient cookies everywhere. I didn’t like them personally, since I went into it looking for a cookie, but I tried them once again for Ryan, with a hope that he’d like them.

Success! He loves them. I makes them smaller for him, and they’re the perfect size for little hands. (You could also make them into sticks of some sort, I’ve tried them both ways.) THe recipe is below, and it’s open fore changes and edits to fit your family. Add-ins could be raisins, craisins, chocolate chips, chopped nuts, or a sprinkle of cinnamon sugar on top, just to name a few. Rolled oats are often used in other recipes, but I have found that they are too coarse for baby mouths, so I suggest sticking to quick oats.

Also, our pediatrician is completely comfortable with us giving Ryan peanut butter since there is no history of an allergy in our families. Please consult your pediatrician and do your own research before giving your child any kind of nuts.

Easy Baby Cookies

Easy Banana Cookies for Baby
makes about 18 cookies

2 ripe bananas
1 cup of quick oats

Optional:
2-4 TBS of peanut butter
1 tsp vanilla
1/4 cup of mix-ins

Preheat over to 350, and line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a Silpat. In a bowl, mash up the bananas very well. Make sure to break up any larger chunks. Add in peanut butter and vanilla, if using and stir until combined. Stir in mix-ins and oats. Take a tablespoon and and scoop balls out on to the mat. When they are all scooped, smooth into balls and flatten slightly with a fork or your fingers. Put into the oven and bake for 8-10 minutes. Let cool and package, keeping in the refrigerator.

I find that they will keep in the fridge for about a week and a half, and out of the fridge for 3 or 4 days. I usually keep about 5 out in the fridge in a plastic bag and the rest in a container in the freezer. When we’re down to one or two, I take a few more out and defrost in a baggie or container in the fridge. (They will dry out if exposed, so don’t defrost on your counter uncovered.)

What are your favorite homemade treats or your kids? Do you have any great recipes to replace old favorites when losing weight?

-Morgan

10 thoughts on “Easiest Baby Cookies Ever

  1. So glad you found your way to my blog so I could find yours! I’m in NJ too…where abouts are you? Oooh, I will definitely be making these “cookies” when my little one is ready for real food, since we still arent’ sure if he’ll outgrow his soy and/or dairy issues. We’re still working on learning to chew 😉

    • We’re in Budd Lake now, but I grew up in Somerville. What about? Yeah, we start testing next month to see if Ryan outgrew his and I’m sure you can relate to the high hopes I have! But the cookies are GREAT, when our pediatrician told me at 9 months he should be having 3 meals and 2 snacks I was shocked and at a loss for soy/dairy allergy friendly snacks. They have been a godsend.

      • Oh not *too far. We’re in Millburn. Good luck to Ryan!!! I hear it’s fairly common to outgrow these allergies so I’ll keep my fingers crossed for him 😉 Man we definitely won’t be at 3 meals and 2 snacks by 9 months. When on earth do they have time to eat all that while still drinking bottles?!

  2. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday, BLW Style | managing mommyhood

  3. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday: vol. 2 | managing mommyhood

  4. Pingback: Baby Led Weaning: Step 2 | managing mommyhood

Leave a comment